On July 15, 1870, Manitoba was admitted into Confederation under the provisions of the Manitoba Act (33 Vict., c. 3); the (Imperial) Rupert's Land Act of 1868 (31-32 Vict., c. 105) and the Imperial Order in Council of June 23, 1870.

On July 20, 1871, British Columbia was admitted into the Union by Imperial Order in Council of May 16, 1871.

On July 1, 1873, Prince Edward Island was admitted by Imperial Order in Council of June 26, 1873.

On June 13, 1898, the former Yukon Judicial District, comprised within the Northwest Territories, was brought into existence as a separate territory under authority of the Yukon Territory Act (61 Vict., c. 6).

On Sept. 1, 1905 Saskatchewan and Alberta were created as provinces out of part of the former Northwest Territories. Authority for such creation was given in the B.N.A. Act of 1871 (34-35 Vict., c. 28) which clarified any doubt as to the powers of the Dominion Parliament to establish provinces out of the existing territories, and the legislation which actually created the provinces was the Alberta Act (4-5 Edw. VII, c. 3) and the Saskatchewan Act (4-5 Edw. VII, c. 42).

147. In case of the Admission of Newfoundland and Prince Edward Island, or either of them, each shall be entitled to a Representation in the Senate of Canada of Four Members, and (notwithstanding anything in this Act) in case of the Admission of Newfoundland the normal Number of Senators shall be Seventy-six and their maximum Number shall be Eightytwo; but Prince Edward Island when admitted shall be deemed to be comprised in the third of the Three Divisions into which Canada is, in relation to the Constitution of the Senate, divided by this Act, and accordingly, after the Admission of Prince Edward Island, whether Newfoundland is admitted or not, the Representation of Nova Scotia and New Brunswick in the Senate shall, as Vacancies occur, be reduced from Twelve to Ten Members respectively, and the Representation of each of those Provinces shall not be increased at any Time beyond Ten, except under the Provision of this Act for the Appointment of Three or Six additional Senators under the Direction of the Queen.

As to Representation of Newfoundland and Prince Edward Island in Senate.